The Government of Svalbard

The Government of Svalbard


Country name: conventional long form: none conventional short form: Svalbard (sometimes referred to as Spitzbergen)

Government type: NA

Capital: name: Longyearbyen geographic coordinates: 78 13 N, 15 33 E time difference: UTC+1 (6 hours ahead of Washington, DC during Standard Time) daylight saving time: +1hr, begins last Sunday in March; ends last Sunday in October

Administrative divisions:

Independence: none (territory of Norway)

National holiday:


Legal system: the laws of Norway, where applicable, apply


Executive branch: chief of state: King HARALD V of Norway (since 17 January 1991) head of government: Governor Per SEFLAND (since 1 October 2005); Assistant Governor Rune Baard HANSEN (since 2003) elections: none; the monarch is hereditary; governor and assistant governor responsible to the Polar Department of the Ministry of Justice

Legislative branch:

Judicial branch:

Political parties and leaders:

Political pressure groups and leaders: NA

International organization participation: none

Diplomatic representation in the US:

Diplomatic representation from the US:

Flag description: the flag of Norway is used

Facts, Flags, Maps for all the world's countries
The information here has been derived from Public Domain Sources such as the CIA World Factbook. No liability can be taken for any inaccuracies. You can use the maps, flags and facts presented here however you choose.